image credit: Unsplash

In wake of Surfside disaster, Florida contractors create building safety task force

October 13, 2021

Members of the group represent the five chapters throughout Florida that make up the statewide association. They are:

  • Mike Gruber – ECS Limited
  • Jonathan Knudsen – Universal Engineering
  • Mark LeBlanc – Specialty Engineering Consultants
  • Steven Lockhart – Finfrock
  • Noman McMillan – CSI Contracting
  • Scott Olthoff – Core Construction
  • Franky Rygiel – Walbridge
  • Steve Sanko, P.E. – Dash Door & Glass

“We hope to provide industry input to our legislature and assure that we never see another tragedy like this again,” Griffin said in the release.

While the group hopes to have a say in upcoming legislation, laws in some of areas of the state have already changed to include new inspection requirements for older condos in Miami-Dade County and Boca Raton.

Read More on Construction Dive